My anecdote is:
Since I have food allergies, I always have to ask at potlucks and
food fairs if something contains wheat. I almost always, even from
third-world persons, would get the response, "no, it (only) contains
noodles or bread or..." (varied with the food item). I finally
figured out that most of the world does not know that bread is made
from wheat, especially white bread, now, with the stupid advertising
given to whole wheat products. Nor noodles, nor flour... I hope
I'm wrong, since it's amazing to me.
Now I ask, "Does the item contain wheat, bread, or flour?" or some
variation of that. The same has occured with dairy occasionally
(eg. yogurt or cheese not considered as containing milk), but much
less of a problem...